Back chapter figures

Figure CCP6.1

Figure caption

Figure CCP6.1 |  Polar regions include the Arctic, Antarctica, Iceland, Greenland, Faroe Islands and some sub-Arctic areas (e.g., Bering Sea and Aleutian Islands as well as the Fennoscandian and Siberian boreal areas), and all sub-Antarctic areas. This CCP augments the geographical boundaries for the Arctic (Meredith et al., 2019) to also include the sub-Arctic boundary (as defined by the Arctic Biodiversity Assessment), northern boreal areas, parts of the Siberian taiga and southern Labrador. The Antarctic region is delineated along the sub-Antarctic Front (Orsi et al., 1995). Geographic boundaries of the polar regions and important sub-regional locations are displayed, including five marine sectors as defined in the Marine Ecosystem Assessment for the Southern Ocean (MEASO), for example, Grant et al., (2021).