

INTERGOVERNMENTAL PANEL ON CLIMATE CHANGE



INTERGOVERNMENTAL PANEL ON CLIMATE CHANGE

IPCC-XXIX/Doc.10 (2.IX.2008)

TWENTY-NINTH SESSION Geneva, 31 August - 4 September 2008 Agenda item: 6 ENGLISH ONLY

FIRST REPORT OF THE CREDENTIALS COMMITTEE

(Submitted by the Chairperson of the Committee)

E-mail: IPCC-Sec@wmo.int

Website: http://www.ipcc.ch

FIRST REPORT OF THE CREDENTIALS COMMITTEE

- 1. The Credentials Committee established by the Panel in accordance with Rule 5 of the Rules of Procedures for the Elections of the IPCC Bureau and any Task Force Bureau (Rules of Procedure) was composed of the following six members: Mr Boodhoo (Mauritius), Mr Lozano (Colombia), Ms Markovska (The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia), Ms Tummakird (Thailand), Mr Koba (Indonesia) and Ms Martinez (Guatemala).
- **2.** The Committee elected Ms Tummakird as its Chairperson, and reviewed the communications containing the names of the representatives designated by IPCC Members to participate in the 29th Session of the Panel, received in the Secretariat on 1 September 2008 at 18h00. The IPCC is open to all UNEP and WMO Member States.
- **3.** Rule 6 of the Rules of Procedure provides that "Delegates shall be entitled to participate provisionally in a Session, pending a decision by the Panel to accept their credentials". To be valid, credentials "shall be signed by, or on behalf of, an appropriate government authority of the Member of the IPCC" (Rule 4).
- **4.** Consistent with IPCC practice, the Committee considered the following to be appropriate government authorities: the Head of State, the Minister of Foreign Affairs, the Permanent Mission to the United Nations Office and other international organizations in Geneva, the IPCC designated Focal Point or a senior official in the ministry or government agency of the IPCC Focal Point.
- **5.** Based on the above considerations, the Committee found that the credentials of the delegations of the following 154 member States of UNEP or WMO were in order:

Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Andorra, Angola, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belgium, Belize, Benin, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, China, Colombia, Comoros, Congo (Republic of the), Costa Rica, Côte d'Ivoire, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Denmark, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Estonia, Ethiopia, Fiji, Finland, France, Gambia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Iraq, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Latvia, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Moldova, Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Niger, Nigeria, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Romania, Russian Federation, Rwanda, Sao Tome & Principe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic, Tajikistan, Thailand, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Togo, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Uganda, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United Republic of Tanzania, United States of America, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Venezuela, Viet Nam, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

6. The Committee also noted that the following 25 organizations had accredited observers to the 29th Session of the Panel in accordance with the IPCC Policy and Procedures for Admitting Observer Organizations:

United Nations bodies and organizations and other intergovernmental organizations

World Meteorological Organization (WMO)
United Nations Environment Program (UNEP)
European Community
International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (World Bank)
International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies (IFRC)
International Labour Organization (ILO)

United Nations Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC)
United Nations International Strategy for Disaster Reduction (UN/ISDR)
World Health Organization (WHO)

Non governmental organizations

Campaign for a Hydrogen Economy (CHEC)

Germanwatch

GHG Associates

Greenpeace

Institute of Marine Engineering, Science & Technology (IMarEST)

International Air Transport Association (IATA)

International Centre for Integrated Mountain Development (ICIMOD)

International Chamber of Commerce (ICC)

International Geosphere-Biosphere Programme (IGBP)

International Human Dimensions Programme (IHDP)

International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis (IIASA)

International Union for the Conservation of Nature (IUCN)

International Petroleum Industry Environmental Conservation Association (IPIECA)

South Centre

Third World Network

World Business Council for Sustainable Development (WBCSD)

- 7. So far, a total of 446 delegates have been accredited by IPCC Members. Fifty nine participants have been appointed by invited observers. A list of delegates and observers is available on the IPCC's Web site. A final list will be appended to the Report of the current session of the Panel.
- **8.** The Credentials Committee submits the present report to the Plenary so that it may accept the credentials of the delegations listed in paragraph 5 above.

Geneva, 2 September 2008