



INTERGOVERNMENTAL PANEL ON CLIMATE CHANGE

> TWENTY-FIFTH SESSION Mauritius, 26-28 April 2006

IPCC-XXV/Doc. 16 (27.III.2006)

Agenda item: 12 ENGLISH ONLY

PROGRESS REPORTS

Emission Factor Database (EFDB): Editorial Board Membership

(Submitted by the Co-Chairs of the Task Force Bureau on National Greenhouse Gas Inventories)

Emission Factor Database (EFDB): Editorial Board Membership

The Emission Factor Database (EFDB) coordinated by the IPCC National Greenhouse Gas Inventories Programme (NGGIP) was created based on recommendations from a scoping meeting held in New Delhi, India, 24-25 July 2000. The database was formally launched at the Eighth Session of the Conference of the Parties (COP-8) to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC), in New Delhi, in October 2002.

The EFDB aims at amplifying the range of emission factors and other related parameters available, so as to provide users with data that may be more adequate for estimating greenhouse gas emissions and removals for their national inventories under the UNFCCC. The database is open for proposals of new emission factors and parameters. The proposals are evaluated by the EFDB Editorial Board for their robustness, applicability and appropriate documentation.

The Editorial Board is composed of experts recommended by IPCC Member States. The composition of the Editorial Board is as follows:

- two Board Co-chairs who will have the overall responsibility of the evaluation of emission factors and parameters for the database;
- four to six Sector Experts for each of the following inventory sectors: i) Energy, ii) Industrial Processes, and Solvent and Other Product Use, iii) Agriculture, iv) Land Use, Land-Use Change and Forestry, and v) Waste.

Following an invitation to governments for nominations to the Editorial Board in October 2005, the NGGIP Technical Support Unit has received nominations of 49 experts from 30 governments. Taking into account the importance of expertise, geographical distribution as well as continuity of the process and continuity of the EFDB, the NGGIP Task Force Bureau has selected the new EFDB Editorial Board members and has established the slate of the Editorial Board as shown in Table 1. Table 2 shows the geographical distribution of the proposed membership.

It should be noted that the list will need to be augmented with additional members, if and when the need arises for additional expertise required for the tasks of the Editorial Board.

Table 1 - TSU Proposals for EFDB Editorial Board

(Current members, who have served since 2002, are shaded and underlined.)

Energy	Industrial Processes	Agriculture	LULUCF	Waste	
Dario R. Gomez	Alice Au (Canada)	<u>Magda Aparecida</u>	Hector D. Ginzo	G.H. Sabin	
(Argentina)		Lima (Brazil)	(Argentina)	Guendehou (Benin)	
John Carras	Shamir, A. El	Chang Liang	Dominique Blain	<u>Sonia Maria Manso</u>	
(Australia)	Mowafi (Egypt)	(Canada)	(Canada)	Vieira (Brazil)	
Chia Ha (Canada)	<u>Kristina Saarinen</u>	<u>Sergio P.E. Gonzalez</u>	Yukihiro Chiba	Craig K. Palmer	
	(Finland)	(Chile)	(Japan)	(Canada)	
Pavel Fott (Czech)	<u>Tinus Pulles</u> (The Netherlands)	Keith Lassey (NZ)	Masamichi Takahashi (Japan)	Masato Yamada (Japan)	
Micheal Strogies (Germany)	Alexander I. Nakhutin (Russian Federation)	Anna A. Romanovskaya (Russian Federation)	<u>Nagmeldin Goutbi</u> (Sudan)	Katarina Mareckova (Slovakia)	
<u>Azhari Ahmed</u>	Martin L. Adams	Maria-Jose Sanz-	Leif Klemedtsson	Elizabeth R.Garnett	
(Qatar)	(UK)	Sanchez (Spain)	(Sweden) ¹	(UK)	
Norbert Nziramasanga (Zimbabwe)	Deborah Ottinger Schaefer (USA)	Steve Jarvis (UK)	Amanda Thomson (UK)	Melissa Weitz (USA)	

	Energy	IP	Agriculture	LULUCF	Waste	Total
Developed Countries	3	5	4	5	4	21
EIT Countries	1	1	1	0	1	4
Developing Countries ²	3	1	2	2	2	10
Total	7	7	7	7	7	35

¹ Mr. Klemedtsson has been contributing to the work of EFDB on behalf of Mr Anders Lindroth (Sweden, EB member).

² Qatar is counted as a developing country, but is not supported by the IPCC Trust Fund.