



MEDIA FLASH

FOR INFORMATION MEDIA ONLY -NOT AN OFFICIAL RECORD

Session elects new Bureau and Bureau of Task Force on Inventories INTERGOVERNMENTAL PANEL ON CLIMATE CHANGE (IPCC) ELECTS DR. RAJENDRA K. PACHAURI AS ITS CHAIRMAN

GENEVA, 20 APRIL 2002 (IPCC) - The Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) has elected Dr. Rajendra K. Pachauri as its next Chairman at its 19th session in Geneva. Dr. Pachauri, a citizen of India, is a world-class expert in economics and technology, two areas critical to the IPCC. He assured the session of his strong commitment to the IPCC process, its scientific integrity and the spirit of consensus by which it functions so effectively. The outgoing Chairman, Dr. Robert T. Watson, has reaffirmed his commitment and pledged his support.

Building on its tradition of excellence in its leadership, the IPCC elected Dr. Pachauri to lead the expert body in preparing the Fourth Assessment of climate change. The Fourth Assessment Report is expected during 2007. "I shall endeavour in my role as Chairman to carry forward the excellent work of my predecessors and create teamwork through sensitivity to all regions of the world, including the developing world and the small island states", Dr. Pachauri said at the closure of the session.

The IPCC also elected the rest of its Bureau and the Bureau of its Task Force on Inventories. The representatives of governments in the six IPCC Regions held extensive and constructive consultations within and between themselves to agree upon their respective candidates for these offices.

The World Meteorological Organization (WMO) and the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) set up the IPCC in 1988. The Panel assesses factual information available on climate change including science, impacts, economics and mitigation/adaptation possibilities. It is a policy-neutral and independent body. The IPCC Bureau has 30 members and is geographically balanced. It assists the Chairman and the Panel in the conduct of IPCC business. The Task Force Bureau looks after the methodologies for national greenhouse gas inventories.

Even though their responsibilities within the Bureau have changed, the Governments of the USA, the UK, the Netherlands and Japan will continue to maintain the Technical Support Units of the Working Groups/Task Force.

For more information, please contact: Mrs. M. Lagarde Information and Public Affairs World Meteorological Organization (WMO) 7bis, Av. De la Paix CH-1211 GENEVA 2 Tel : +41 22 730 83 15 Fax: +41 22 730 80 27 E-mail: Lagarde_M@gateway.wmo.ch WMO web : www.wmo.ch IPCC web: www.ipcc.ch

For further information, contact the IPCC Secretariat at IPCC-Sec@wmo.int