

FORTY-FIRST SESSION OF THE IPCC Nairobi, Kenya, 24-27 February 2015

IPCC-XLI/Doc. 15 (12.II.2015) Agenda Item: 5.2 ENGLISH ONLY

FUTURE WORK OF THE IPCC

Issues for discussion and decision on size, structure and composition of the IPCC Bureau and any Task Force Bureau

(Submitted by the IPCC Secretariat)



FUTURE WORK OF THE IPCC

Issues for discussion and decision on size, structure and composition of the IPCC Bureau and any Task Force Bureau

Rule 7 of Appendix C to the Principles Governing IPCC Work, the Procedures for the Election of the IPCC Bureau and any Task Force Bureau (hereafter: the Election Procedures), requires that "The size, structure and composition of the IPCC Bureau and any Task Force Bureau will be reviewed and amended, as necessary, by the Panel at least one Session prior to the Session at which the IPCC Bureau and/or any Task Force Bureau are elected."

Preparing for the Fifth Assessment Report (AR5), the IPCC at its 29th Session (Geneva, Switzerland, 31 August – 4 September 2008) decided with respect to the size of the Bureau, that it consists of 30 members, whereas the Task Force Bureau was fixed on 14 members. At the 30th Session (Antalya, Turkey, 21-23 April 2009) Saudi Arabia raised the point that due to the exceptional circumstances which led to the appointment of three Co-Chairs in Working Group III, Region II (Asia) was not represented in the Bureau of Working Group III. It requested that the size of the IPCC Bureau would be increased to 31, adding one member from Region II. The Panel accepted the proposal of an additional member on the IPCC Bureau in the function of a Vice-Chair of Working Group III as an exception which would not establish a precedent. However, the Panel at its 35th Session (Geneva, Switzerland, 6-9 June 2012), while revising the Election Procedures, decided to increase the number of positions on the IPCC Bureau for Region V (South-West Pacific) from 3 to 4, to ensure that each Region would be represented in each of the following four formations within the IPCC Bureau: the Executive Committee, and the Working Group I, Working Group II and Working Group III Bureaux. The composition structure and applied geographical balance of the current IPCC Bureau and Task Force Bureau, reflecting due consideration for scientific and technical requirements, as adopted by the Panel at its 35th Session are described in Annex B, Sections I and II, of the Election Procedures. Annex B has to be read in conjunction with Annex A specifying the grouping of the IPCC Members according to the six WMO Regions. For easy reference Annex B is annexed to this document (Annex 1).

The Panel at its 41st Session may wish to amend or endorse the size and composition of the IPCC Bureau and/or Task Force Bureau for the next assessment cycle.

According to Rule 8 of the Election Procedures "The Term of the Bureau shall be sufficient for the preparation of an Assessment Report and shall end at the Session at which the succeeding IPCC Bureau is elected." Rule 8 further states that "The Term of any Task Force Bureau shall normally be the same as the Term of the IPCC Bureau and elections for any Task Force Bureau shall take place at the same Session at which the IPCC Bureau is elected, unless decided otherwise by the Panel." Rule 8 requires that "The Term of the IPCC Bureau shall be defined at least one Session prior to the one at which the IPCC Bureau is elected."

With the approval and adoption of the Synthesis Report of the AR5 by the IPCC at its 40th Session (Copenhagen, Denmark, 27-31 October 2014) the fifth assessment cycle was finalized. In accordance with Rule 8, the term of the current Bureau – and of the Task Force Bureau - will end when the new Bureaux for the next cycle have been elected, which is expected to occur at the 42nd Session of the IPCC, scheduled to be held end October 2015. The Panel at its 41st Session is invited to define the terms of the two Bureaux.

As to the elections at the 42nd Session, consistent with Rule 21 (a) and (b) the Secretary of the IPCC will six months or more before the Session have to invite Members of the IPCC to submit to the IPCC Secretariat written nominations for the IPCC Chair and relevant IPCC Bureau or any Task Force Bureau positions. In accordance with Rule 21 (c) nominations should be submitted in writing to the Secretariat one month before the election and include the curriculum vitae (CV) of the person nominated as well a Conflict of Interest (COI) Disclosure Form in accordance with the IPCC COI Policy. In accordance with Rule 21 (d) Members may also nominate a person for the IPCC Chair,

IPCC Bureau or the Task Force Bureau by making oral representations to the Panel at the Session at which an election is to be held. Individuals so nominated must provide a CV for distribution to the Panel and an IPCC COI Disclosure Form to the Secretariat.

For the composition of the current IPCC Bureau and Task Force Bureau please refer to the IPCC website.

Annex B

Composition of the IPCC Bureau and Task Force Bureau

This Annex will be amended in line with relevant decisions of the Panel.

I. IPCC Bureau

The IPCC Bureau is composed of 31 members.

It consists of:

- 1. the IPCC-Chair,
- 2. three IPCC Vice-Chairs with specific responsibilities,
- 3. two Co-Chairs of the Task Force Bureau on National Greenhouse Gas Inventories,
- 4. The Working Group I Bureau, with two Working Group Co-Chairs and six Working Group Vice-Chairs.
- 5. The Working Group II Bureau, with two Working Group Co-Chairs and seven Working Group Vice-Chairs
- 6. The Working Group III Bureau, with two Working Group Co-Chairs and six Working Group Vice-Chairs

Subject to the following overall regional balance within the IPCC Bureau:

Region I: 5 positions
Region II: 5 positions
Region IV: 4 positions
Region V: 4 positions
Region V: 4 positions
Region VI: 8 positions

In filling elective positions, account should be taken of the need to ensure that:

- the three IPCC Vice-Chairpersons are from different regions including at least one from a developing country and one from a developed country:
- one Co-Chair in each Working Group and any Task Force Bureau is from a developing country;
- one Co-Chair in each Working Group and in the Task Force Bureau is from a country which is ready to host the Technical Support Unit;
- Each Region is represented in each of the following four formations within the Bureau: the Executive Committee, Working Group I, Working Group II, Working Group III.

Consideration should also be given to promoting gender balance.

The IPCC Chair does not represent a region.

II. Task Force Bureau

The Task Force Bureau on national Greenhouse Gas Inventories is composed of 2 Co-chairs and 12 members, 2 each of which should be drawn from each Region.