

# FORTY-SECOND SESSION OF THE IPCC Dubrovnik, Croatia, 5-8 October 2015

IPCC-XLII/INF. 5 (21.VIII.2015) Agenda Item: 6.3 ENGLISH ONLY

## **PROCEDURAL MATTERS**

## **Nominations**

(Submitted by the Acting Secretary of the IPCC)



#### **PROCEDURAL MATTERS**

#### **Nominations**

In accordance with Rule 22 of Appendix C to the Principles Governing IPCC Work, the "Procedures for the Election of the IPCC Bureau and Any Task Force Bureau" (the Election Rules), the Panel will establish a Nominations Committee on the opening day of the Session where an election is being held for the duration of the Session. Each Region shall nominate two representatives to serve on the Committee. The Committee shall by consensus choose a Chair from among its members. A representative from the Secretariat may be invited to attend the Committee with consultative status.

The Committee shall prepare and submit through its Chair to the Members of the Panel a list of Nominees for each office for which an election is to be held. The list(s) will be submitted at least 24 hours before the actual election will take place.

IPCC Members are grouped according to the six WMO Regions as reflected in Annex A to the Election Rules.

In accordance with Rule 23 of the Election Rules all Regions are encouraged to meet before and/or as early as possible during the Panel Session with a view to, inter alia:

- (a) designate the representative of the Region to the Credentials Committee;
- (b) designate the two representatives of the Region to the Nominations Committee;
- (c) consider the nominations to the IPCC Bureau and any Task Force Bureau positions from the Region.

As indicated in Annex B to the Election Rules, the IPCC Bureau is composed of 34 members.

It consists of:

- 1. The IPCC Chair;
- 2. Three IPCC Vice-Chairs:
- 3. Two Co-Chairs of the Task Force Bureau on National Greenhouse Gas Inventories;
- 4. The Working Group I Bureau, with two Working Group Co-Chairs and seven Working Group Vice-Chairs;
- 5. The Working Group II Bureau, with two Working Group Co-Chairs and eight Working Group Vice-Chairs:
- 6. The Working Group III Bureau, with two Working Group Co-Chairs and seven Working Group Vice-Chairs.

Subject to the following overall regional balance within the IPCC Bureau:

Region I (Africa): 7 positions Region II (Asia): 6 positions Region III (South America): 4 positions

Region IV (North America, Central America and the Caribbean): 4 positions

Region V (South-West Pacific): 4 positions Region VI (Europe): 8 positions

The IPCC Chair does not represent a Region.

The Task Force Bureau on National Greenhouse Gas Inventories is composed of two Co-Chairs, who are members of the IPCC Bureau as well, and twelve members, two of each are drawn from each Region.

In filling elective positions, account should be taken of the need to ensure that:

- The three IPCC Vice-Chairs are from different Regions, including at least one from a developing country and one from a developed country;
- One Co-Chair in each Working Group and any Task Force Bureau is from a developing country;
- At least one Co-Chair in each Working Group and any Task Force Bureau is from a country which is ready to host the Technical Support Unit;
- Each Region is represented in each of the following four formations within the Bureau: the Executive Committee, Working Group I, Working Group II, Working Group III.

The Nominations Committee will receive the first notification from the Conflict of Interest (COI) Committee on the COI of candidates for election by Monday 5 October 2015 at noon. Following that the Nominations Committee will transmit through its Chair to the Members of the Panel the first list of Nominees for each office for which an election is to be held by Monday 5 October at 3 pm.