# INTERGOVERNMENTAL PANEL ON Climate change

# FORTY-SECOND SESSION OF THE IPCC Dubrovnik, Croatia, 5-8 October 2015

IPCC-XLII/INF. 16 (25.IX.2015) Agenda Item: 7 ENGLISH ONLY

# **GUIDANCE ON DEVELOPED AND DEVELOPING COUNTRIES CATEGORIES**

(Submitted by the Acting Secretary of the IPCC)



**IPCC Secretariat** 

## **GUIDANCE ON DEVELOPED AND DEVELOPING COUNTRIES CATEGORIES**

### Background

The IPCC Secretariat has been approached by a number of Member States asking for a list setting out which of its Members the IPCC considers are developed and developing countries for use in the IPCC elections.

The IPCC elections are based on Appendix C to the Principles Governing IPCC Work. Since the 35<sup>th</sup> Session of the IPCC (Geneva, 6-9 June 2012), the Procedures for the Election of the IPCC Bureau and any Task Force Bureau, in short the Election Rules, specify that the three IPCC Vice-Chairs include at least one person from a developed country and one from a developing country, and that one Co-Chair in each Working Group and any Task Force Bureau is from a developing country. These provisions were based on earlier IPCC practice in which the economies in transition were included in the category of developing countries. However, an official listing to which category IPCC Members belong has never been made.

### Response

Accordingly, for the forthcoming elections, the IPCC Secretariat requested the Office of the Legal Counsel of the United Nations (UN) in New York for a specification as to which category the IPCC Members belong. The Legal Counsel confirmed that no overall definitions are available, but that the Statistical Annex to the World Economic Situation and Prospects 2015 Report could be used as the basic guiding source.

The Statistical Annex was issued by the Department of Economic and Social Affairs of the United Nations Secretariat (UN/DESA), and is based on information obtained from the Statistics Division and the Population Division of UN/DESA, the UN Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD), the five regional UN economic commissions, and furthermore from the UN World Tourism Organization (UNWTO), the International Monetary Fund (IMF), the World Bank and the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD).

Attached to this Note is guidance on developed countries (Annex 1), developing countries (Annex 2) and economies in transition (Annex 3), based on the information provided in the Statistical Annex.

The IPCC may wish to use the guidance provided in Annexes 1, 2 and 3 in the election process and in doing so continue with the practice of including both the developing countries and the countries with economies in transition in the category of developing countries.

ANNEX 1 - List of Developed Countries (41) - Based on the Statistical Annex to the World Economic Situation and Prospects 2015 Report

Andorra Australia Austria Belgium Bulgaria Canada Croatia Cyprus **Czech Republic** Denmark Estonia Finland France Germany Greece Hungary Iceland Ireland Israel Italy Japan Latvia Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Malta Monaco Netherlands New Zealand Norway Poland Portugal Romania San Marino Slovakia Slovenia Spain Sweden Switzerland United Kingdom (of Great Britain and Northern Ireland) United States of America

ANNEX 2 - List of Developing Countries (137) - Based on the Statistical Annex to the World Economic Situation and Prospects 2015 Report

Afghanistan Algeria Angola Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Bahamas Bahrain Bangladesh **Barbados** Belize Benin Bhutan Bolivia (Plurinational State of) Botswana Brazil Brunei Darussalam **Burkina Faso** Burundi Cabo Verde Cambodia Cameroon **Central African Republic** Chad Chile China Colombia Comoros Congo **Cook Islands** Costa Rica Cote d'Ivoire Cuba Democratic People's Republic of Korea Democratic Republic of the Congo Djibouti Dominica **Dominican Republic** Equador Egypt El Salvador **Equatorial Guinea** Eritrea Ethiopia Fiji Gabon Gambia Ghana Grenada Guatamala Guinea Guinea Bissau Guyana

Haiti Honduras India Indonesia Iran (Islamic Republic of) Iraq Jamaica Jordan Kenya Kiribati Kuwait Lao People's Democratic Republic Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Libya Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mali Marshall Islands Mauretania Mauritius Mexico Micronesia (Federated States of) Mongolia Morocco Mozambique Myanmar Namibia Nauru Nepal Nicaragua Niger Nigeria Niue Oman Pakistan Palau Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Qatar Republic of Korea Rwanda Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Samoa

Sao Tome and Principe Saudi Arabia Senegal Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Solomon Islands Somalia South Africa South Sudan Sri Lanka Sudan Suriname Swaziland Syrian Arab Republic Thailand Timor-Leste Togo Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Tuvalu Uganda United Arab Emirates United Republic of Tanzania Uruguay Vanuatu Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of) Viet Nam Yemen Zambia Zimbabwe

ANNEX 3 - List of Countries with Economies in Transition (17) - Based on the Statistical Annex to the World Economic Situation and Prospects 2015 Report

Albania Armenia Azerbaijan Belarus Bosnia and Herzegovina Georgia Kazakhstan Kyrgyzstan Montenegro Republic of Moldova **Russian Federation** Serbia Tajikistan The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia Turkmenistan Ukraine Uzbekistan