



IPCC Press Conference 9 August 2021

## **IPCC Panelists Bios**



Hoesung Lee is Chair of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), elected in October 2015, and Endowed Chair Professor at Korea University Graduate School of Energy and Environment, Seoul, Korea. His research encompasses the economics of climate change, energy, and sustainable development. He is a council member of the Global Green Growth Institute and Chairman of the Asian Development Bank President's Advisory Board on Climate Change and Sustainable Development.

Lee was the founding president of the Korea Energy Economics Institute, a government agency for national energy policy development. He was a Distinguished Research Fellow at the Korea Environment Institute, senior adviser to the Minister of Energy and Resources and the Minister of

Environment, senior fellow at the Korea Development Institute, and economist at Exxon Company USA. He served as the president of the International Association for Energy Economics, president of the Korea Resources Economics Association, member of the International Advisory Board of the Battelle-Pacific Northwest National Lab, USA, the Board of Directors of Hyundai Corporation, and the Institute for Global Environmental Strategies, Japan.

He was Co-Chair of the IPCC Working Group III (the socio-economic dimensions of climate change) for the Second Assessment which provided a scientific basis for the UNFCCC's Kyoto Protocol. He served as Vice-Chair of the IPCC from 2008-2015, and was a lead author and review editor for various IPCC assessments. He received his BA from Seoul National University and PhD in economics from Rutgers University, USA.



Abdallah Mokssit is Secretary of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC). He has a long experience with the IPCC and the World Meteorological Organization (WMO). He is a former Vice-Chair of IPCC Working Group I, which deals with the physical science basis of climate change. He is also a former Third Vice-President of the World Meteorological Congress of WMO and was member of several WMO commissions including the Commission on Climatology and the Commission for Basic Systems.

Previously, Abdallah was the Director of the National Meteorological Department of Morocco. At the National Meteorological Service of Morocco, he has focused on upgrading forecasting, from nowcasting to long-range forecasting; improving warning and crisis management for extreme events;

and generating regional models of climate change scenarios, climate change sector impact studies and services for end users. In May 1996, His Majesty, the late King Hassan II of Morocco awarded the «National Order of Merit, Excellent Class» to Abdallah Mokssit for his contribution to the modernization of the National Meteorology. He was also awarded the medals "Chevalier" and "Commandeur" personally by His Majesty King Mohamed VI and the medal "Leverier" in recognition of work for the extension of NWP model PERIDOT to North Africa and Eastern Europe.







Valérie Masson-Delmotte is a Co-Chair of Working Group I of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) for the Sixth Assessment cycle, and a Senior Scientist in France's Laboratory of Climate and Environment Sciences (LSCE) of Institut Pierre Simon Laplace, at the University of Paris Saclay. Masson-Delmotte, trained in fluid physics, has an extensive research background on issues such as quantifying and understanding past climate and water cycle variability, climate information from ice cores, climate response to natural and anthropogenic forcings, climate feedbacks, abrupt climate change, ice sheets and sea level. With 250 peer-review publications, she is one of the most highly cited scientists in the field of geosciences since 2014.

She is extremely active in outreach and science communication and has contributed to several books on climate change for children and the general public. Her contributions to science advances have been acknowledged by several prestigious prizes, such as the European Commission Descartes Prize in 2008 for the EPICA project, the Irène Joliot-Curie Prize as Women scientist of year 2013, the Martha T. Muse for Antarctic science in 2015, Nature's 10 in 2018, the CNRS silver medal in 2019, the European Geophysical Union Milankovicz medal in 2020, and the medal of the President of the Scientific Committee for Antarctic Research in 2020.



Panmao Zhai is a Co-Chair of Working Group I of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) for the Sixth Assessment cycle. He is the Chief Scientist a research professor of the Chinese Academy of Meteorological Sciences. He was involved in IPCC WGI activities as a Lead Author in both the Fourth and Fifth Assessment Reports.

He has more than 35 years working experience in climate change and variability studies. He has published more than 200 peer reviewed papers, mainly on extreme weather and climate extreme events and El Nino Southern Oscillation. Zhai developed the Global Climate Monitoring and Diagnostic System and established the ENSO Monitoring and Prediction

System in China. Such contributions have effectively supported China National Climate Centre's operational activities and climate services. As a Chief Scientist, Zhai is currently leading a group of scientists studying on detection and attribution of regional extreme weather and climate events.



Jonathan Lynn is Head of Communications and Media Relations of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC).

Before joining the IPCC in November 2011, he worked as a foreign correspondent and editor for Reuters news agency for 32 years, reporting from over 30 countries around the world. Jonathan has an MA from Cambridge University, where he studied modern languages at Clare College. He is a Fellow of the Royal Geographical Society.

Jonathan will moderate the press conference.