

July 2023

## **Briefing Note - IPCC election procedures**

The new IPCC Bureau, which will be elected at the Panel's 59th Session in Nairobi from 25 to 28 July 2023, will consist of 34 members, including the Chair of the IPCC; three IPCC Vice-Chairs; two Co-Chairs for the Task Force Bureau on National Greenhouse Gas Inventories (TFI). The delegates will also elect the Bureaus of three Working Groups. These include two Co-Chairs for each Working Group, and seven Vice-Chairs Working Groups I and III, with eight Vice-Chairs for Working Group II for reasons of geographical representation.

The 59<sup>th</sup> Session will also elect the Bureau of the Task Force on National Greenhouse Gas Inventories (TFI), which consists of two Co-Chairs and 12 members. As noted above, the two TFI Co-Chairs are members of the IPCC Bureau.

Each position outlined below is elected separately and in the following order:

- The IPCC Chair:
- The three IPCC Vice-Chairs;
- The eight Co-Chairs of the Working Groups and the TFI;
- The 22 Vice-Chairs of the Working Groups; and
- The 12 members of the Task Force Bureau.

For each election result to be valid, a majority of 195 IPCC member governments with accepted credentials must be present at the Session. This means that at least 98 member governments with accepted credentials must be present. The Panel establishes a Credentials Committee at the start of the elections Session to examine the credentials of the delegates. The Credentials Committee is comprised of six members, with one representative appointed by each Region (please see the list of regions below). Each delegation of a Member of the IPCC has one vote. Delegates need to be credentialed and physically present in order to vote. There is no proxy voting but as per IPCC practice, a Delegation may choose to nominate an honorary consul or similar who will constitute part of the delegation for that nominating Member state.

Candidates are elected by a simple majority of the valid votes cast (half of the votes + one). If no candidate obtains a simple majority in the first round, a second round of balloting will be held between the two candidates with the highest number of votes in the first ballot. If any other candidate receives the same number of votes in the first round of balloting as the second candidate, he or she is also included in the second round of balloting. A third round of balloting is held if two or more candidates obtain the same number of votes in the second round of balloting. If this yields no result, the decision between those candidates is made by drawing lots.

For the elections, the IPCC uses the Regions as defined by the World Meteorological Organization (WMO). Each region has an allocated number of positions in the Bureau (this is the allocation for the 33 Bureau positions, excluding the Chair):

Region I – Africa (seven positions);

Region II – Asia (six positions);

Region III - South America (four positions);

Region IV – North America, Central America and the Caribbean (four positions);







Region V – South-West Pacific (four positions); and Region VI – Europe (eight positions).

Each Region will contribute two members to the Bureau of the TFI.

For the list of countries in each region click <u>here</u>.

In filling positions, the following conditions are considered:

- The IPCC Chair does not represent a Region;
- The three IPCC Vice-Chairs are from different Regions, including at least one from a developing country and one from a developed country;
- One Co-Chair in each Working Group and the TFI is from a developing country;
- At least one Co-Chair in each Working Group and the TFI is from a country that is ready to host a Technical Support Unit; and
- Each Region is represented in each of the following four formations within the IPCC Bureau: the Executive Committee<sup>1</sup>, Working Group I, Working Group II, and Working Group III. When a Region is not represented in a Working Group, an additional position in that Working Group will be added for that Region.<sup>2</sup>; and
- Consideration should be given to promoting gender balance.

As the elections for different positions proceed, some candidates may no longer be eligible even though their governments have nominated them because their Region has already received its total allocation of positions.

Nominations for elected positions are submitted in writing to the Secretariat no later than one month prior to the scheduled election. Members of the IPCC may also nominate a person for the IPCC Chair, IPCC Bureau or the Task Force Bureau by making oral representations to the Panel during the Election Session.

An up-to-date list of nominations is <u>here</u>.

At the start of the Session, the Panel establishes a Nominations Committee consisting of two representatives from each Region. The Nominations Committee submits a list of nominations for each position to the Panel 24 hours before the election takes place. It means that nominations from the floor during the Session may delay the election for that position by 24 hours.

For complete procedures governing IPCC elections (Appendix C to the Principles Governing IPCC Work), click here.

**ENDS** 

<sup>-</sup>

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> The Executive Committee consists of the IPCC Chair, the three IPCC Vice-Chairs and the Co-Chairs of the Working Groups and TFI, as well as advisory members the IPCC Secretary and Heads of the Technical Support Units.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> In this case, the overall size of the IPCC Bureau will increase accordingly.