Results of the Fifth Round of the IPCC Scholarship Awards

GENEVA, Oct 14 – The Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) scholarship programme has awarded scholarships to 12 students from developing countries and countries with economies in transition.

The IPCC set up the scholarship programme to provide an opportunity to early career scientists in developing countries to work on climate change-related research which in turn contributes to the pipeline of research to be assessed by the IPCC in future reports.

Selected from over 300 applications received in this Fifth Round of Awards (2019-2021), the 12 students are:

Supported by the Prince Albert II of Monaco Foundation:

  • Gabriela COLORADO-RUIZ, Mexico
  • Afriyane DIAN, Indonesia
  • Amali, HETTIARACHCHI, Sri Lanka
  • Yaya IDRISSOU, Benin
  • Peter KABANO, Uganda
  • Daniel KORIR, Kenya
  • Magatte SOW, Senegal

Supported by the Cuomo Foundation:

  • Ana Carolina AMARILLO, Argentina
  • Yabin DA, China
  • Pedro David, FERNANDEZ, Argentina
  • Dongfeng LI, China
  • Igor RIBEIRO, Brazil

Each scholarship award is for a maximum of 15,000 Euros per year for up to two years from 2019 to 2021. The Fifth Round of Awards was launched in February 2019.

The students received their certificates from His Serene Highness Prince Albert II of Monaco and Ms Elena Cuomo during an Award Ceremony held on 19 September 2019 in Monaco.

The IPCC developed its scholarship programme after being jointly awarded the Nobel Peace Prize with former US Vice-President Al Gore in 2007 for its work in building up and disseminating knowledge about climate change and laying foundations for response options. The IPCC decided to invest the Noble Prize money in post-graduate education for young scientists.

The IPCC scholarship programme is generously supported by the Prince Albert II of Monaco Foundation and the Cuomo Foundation.

For  more information, please contact:
Mxolisi SHONGWE, Programme Officer, +41(22) 730 8438,


Notes for Editors

About the IPCC
The Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) is the UN body for assessing the science related to climate change. It was established by the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) and the World Meteorological Organization (WMO) in 1988 to provide political leaders with periodic scientific assessments concerning climate change, its implications and risks, as well as to put forward adaptation and mitigation strategies. It has 195 member states. In the same year, the UN General Assembly endorsed the action by the WMO and UNEP in jointly establishing the IPCC.

Thousands of people from all over the world contribute to the work of the IPCC. For the assessment reports, IPCC scientists volunteer their time to assess the thousands of scientific papers published each year to provide a comprehensive summary of what is known about the drivers of climate change, its impacts and future risks, and how adaptation and mitigation can reduce those risks.

The IPCC has three working groups: Working Group I, dealing with the physical science basis of climate change; Working Group I, dealing with impacts, adaptation and vulnerability; and Working Group III, dealing with the mitigation of climate change. It also has a Task Force on National Greenhouse Gas Inventories that develops methodologies for measuring emissions and removals.

For more information visit