The IPCC Bureau

The IPCC Bureau provides guidance to the Panel on the scientific and technical aspects of IPCC assessments and gives advice on management and strategic issues.

The IPCC Bureau comprises the IPCC Chair, the IPCC Vice-Chairs, the Co-Chairs and Vice-Chairs of the Working Groups and the Co-Chairs of the Task Force. The Bureau is chaired by the IPCC Chair.  During its 41st Session, the Panel decided to increase the size of the Bureau from 31 members to 34 through an increase in representation from Africa (2) and Asia (1).

The purpose of the Bureau is to provide guidance to the Panel on the scientific and technical aspects of its work, to advise on related management and strategic issues, and to take decisions on specific issues within its mandate, in accordance with the Principles Governing IPCC Work. For more details on the role of the Bureau see the Terms of Reference of the Bureau agreed by the IPCC at its 33rd Session.

Members of the Bureau are elected by the Panel for the duration of an assessment cycle following procedures laid down in Appendix C of the Principles Governing the IPCC Work. The Bureau shall reflect a balanced geographic representation with due consideration for scientific and technical requirements. IPCC Bureau members are grouped according to the six regions of the World Meteorological Organization. None of the Bureau members are paid by the IPCC.

At its 33rd Session, the Panel decided to limit the term of office for the IPCC Chair, IPCC Vice-Chairs and the Co-Chairs of the Working Groups and Task Force on National Greenhouse Gas Inventories to one term in a particular office, with the possibility of nomination for reelection in the same office for one additional term, based on individual cases as decided by the Panel.


IPCC Chair


Hoesung Lee

IPCC Chair
Korea, Republic of

The IPCC Vice-Chairs


Youba Sokona


Thelma Krug


Ko Barrett

United States

Working Group and Task Force Co-Chairs


Valérie Masson-Delmotte

Co-Chair, Working Group I

Panmao Zhai

Co-Chair, Working Group I

Hans-Otto Pörtner

Co-Chair, Working Group II

Debra Roberts

Co-Chair, Working Group II
South Africa

Jim Skea

Co-Chair, Working Group III
United Kingdom

Priyadarshi R. Shukla

Co-Chair, Working Group III

Kiyoto Tanabe

Co-Chair, Task Force on National Greenhouse Inventories

Eduardo Calvo Buendía

Co-Chair, Task Force on National Greenhouse Inventories

Working Group Vice Chairs


Andreas Fischlin

Vice-Chair, Working Group II

Mark Howden

Vice-Chair, Working Group II

Carlos Méndez

Vice-Chair, Working Group II
Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of

Joy Jacqueline Pereira

Vice-Chair, Working Group II

Roberto A. Sánchez-Rodríguez

Vice-Chair, Working Group II

Sergey Semenov

Vice-Chair, Working Group II
Russian Federation

Pius Yanda

Vice-Chair, Working Group II
Tanzania, United Republic of

Taha M. Zatari

Vice-Chair, Working Group II
Saudi Arabia

Diana Ürge-Vorsatz

Vice-Chair, Working Group III

Andy Reisinger

Vice-Chair, Working Group III
New Zealand
Load More